OC Varsity’s 2013 Wrestling Coach of the Year!

From the OC Register:

The Yorba Linda wrestling program had a modest beginning with only a handful or wrestlers on the team that first season in 2009-10.

Each year, the Mustangs’ program has grown. This past season, the results from the hard work and perseverance were on display.

The Mustangs won their first Empire League title, a CIF-SS dual title and a CIF Individual title.

Leading the Mustangs has been Brian Fortenbaugh, who has been selected the Register’s wrestling coach of the year for 2012-13.

“Fortenbaugh said earlier in the season. “We had eight kids in the program Day 1 when I started. We’ve built ourselves into a competitive team and I hope it continues.”

The team’s competitive nature was tested in February.

The Mustangs qualified 13 out of the Empire League finals. The following week, they won the Division 5 title at CIF-SS Duals.

Yorba Linda wasn’t finished.

The Mustangs edged Santa Ana, 152-148.5, at the CIF-SS Coastal Division Individual Championships to secure the team title. They were victorious despite having only one wrestler, Landon Myers at 145, in a final.

That’s the definition of teamwork, something that has best described the Mustangs.

“They’ve done a tremendous job and I’m really proud of them.”

Click here to read the article in context on OC Register

Coach Brian Fortenbaugh - Coach of the Year